Intro

I’m doing a podfic for Of the River and the Sea fanfic. I got full permission from Aleycat4eva to post it on AO3 and a wordpress blog by pm-ing her.

I’m doing this mostly because Of the River and the Sea is my favourite fanfic out of the thousands I have read, and I feel that putting it in podfic form makes it accessible to loads more people (busy people who like to listen to audiobooks, lazy people and blind people.)

It also helps me be more eloquent (practise at enunciating my words clearly.) and get better at editing audio (Adobe Audition CC).

It’s awesome that I finally have an opportunity to use my new mic.

How?

So I got permission from aleycat4eva by PM-ing her on fanfiction.net.

Next, I did the recording and editing. – Using Adobe Audition CC.

Finally, I hosted my podfic on Internet Archive before embedding it in AO3.

It’s interesting that even now, AO3 doesn’t really have much support for podfics. AO3 is much better than fanfiction.net which only supports text but is is rather annoying to have to host my file on a separate site and fiddle with embedding html to post my podfic. Hopefully in the future there’ll be way to directly upload the file on AO3.

So to embed my podfic, I found this awesome LJ post which provided the CSS and after I modified it slightly, I finally got a working version of my first ever podfic up!

PS: There is support for soundcloud’s player on AO3 so I might switch to that in the future.

PPS: My cover art on AO3 comes from DA, this image by Helene Le Heron & kim-e-sens.

Links

So here’s the link to chapter 1 of my Of the River and the Sea fanfic.

It’s also on Internet Archive:

So play it and tell me what you think?

If you are curious how I do it, here’s a link to the post about my podfic setup. (coming soon)

Meanwhile, here’s the link to part 2.

One thought on “Podfics

Leave a comment